PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Software

Closed Thread

Old 03-22-2013, 10:48 AM

Total Downloaded: 3.29 GB
Siatki 1.0.1 & AutoCad8 LT

Today I gav it a try to make a cone with Siatki 1.0.1 (free).
Worked! and saved it as a DXF-file.
Opened it with ACAD8 LT and this also worked.
Now tried to measure the diameter with the command Dimension. When selecting the circle (top or bottom) ACAD says it is no circle or arc. And gives no diameter.
So I tried to join the circle: no way, it's a closed polyline...

How can I make it work?
Note: I'm a true beginner in AutoCad...

Greetings
PT

Willem E.
(AKA Ponytail)
Google Adsense
Old 03-22-2013, 11:10 AM

Total Downloaded: 9.67 MB
Throw that rubbish. (Siatki)

Lots of good soft out there beside it.
Old 03-22-2013, 02:33 PM

Such as...?

Willem E.
(AKA Ponytail)
Old 03-23-2013, 05:40 AM

Total Downloaded: 325.07 MB
Try to redraw the curve (circle). if it is a perfect cone/circle, find the axis of the circle, redraw a new circle, cut, and then use the comand.
Or draw the stuff in cad from the beguining. After all us just a question of a using the cone(side) as a radius. then using PI (x tha base of the cone) to get the desired perimeter, knowing that 360º is equal the total of the circle perimeter, then the PI result must be equal to "xº".

hope it helps.

G_Mendes
Old 03-23-2013, 07:22 AM

Total Downloaded: 27.71 MB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ponytail View Post
Today I gav it a try to make a cone with Siatki 1.0.1 (free).
Worked! and saved it as a DXF-file.
Opened it with ACAD8 LT and this also worked.
Now tried to measure the diameter with the command Dimension. When selecting the circle (top or bottom) ACAD says it is no circle or arc. And gives no diameter.
So I tried to join the circle: no way, it's a closed polyline...

How can I make it work?
Note: I'm a true beginner in AutoCad...

Greetings
PT
Autocad has a much eaiser way of finding information about an object.