PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Software

Old 10-29-2022, 11:20 AM

Total Downloaded: 322.93 MB
Copyrighted colors?

I just read on Reddit a discussion about some copyrighted colors going behind paywall soon. Did I read that right?
I'm not a professional about it so I didn't quite get was that about. Is this Adobe doing something? How does that affect average PS user (if at all)?

I would really hate to wake up just to find my digital model stash locked behind paywall. This is precisely why I dislike modern cars, miss my old analog subcompacts and I'm not getting rid of 25 y old tube TV or VCR tapes.

(rant off-sorry)
Google Adsense
Old 10-29-2022, 11:30 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Pantone colours are copyright and now they want users to pay $221/month for usage. No one owns software anymore. The sign was on the wall for all users when Adobe bought out Macromedia then moved to a subscription service. Next will be fees for things like brushes, saving to formats and probably some means to force people to save to cloud services.

We now live in a world where businesses are 'nickle and diming users' for everything. Ex vehicle manufacturers charging us to use a vehicle remote starter and heated seats.
Old 10-29-2022, 12:07 PM

Total Downloaded: 257.44 MB
Subscription services and copyrighting colours are two different things.
if you don't like subscription software, don't use it.
I own CorelDraw 2018...I don't subscribe to the new version.
Thats not what Butelczynski asked about.

Pantone colours are copyrighted within the Pantone catalog.
You're not supposed to reference the pantone colour, its name and code without permission or fee.

But the colour itself...ie a particular shade of yello, is open to interpretation and in the public realm.
Pantone doesn't own 'colour', and can't copyright colours in general.

Adobe or Corel or any digital company can copyright a colour palette that you use in their software.