PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Software

Old 10-07-2009, 07:34 AM

Total Downloaded: 11.18 MB
Beginner Question: Blender unfolding

So, I'm pretty new to papercrafting, but since i've build a few of the easier models, i'd reckon i try designing something myself. Since i am a fan of the concept of open source, my idea is, that i mainly use Blender for both modeling and unfolding. Sadly the unfolding-script works only on very simple models for me. As soon as the meshes start getting complicated it fails. I've tried including seams but the unfolding script seems to ignore them.

As I'm unsure if all this is a result of lacking skills on my part or if the software is just not up to the task, i'd like to know if someone here has experience with unfolding in Blender or can recommend alternative software (I'm aware of pepakura, but want to try to find an open source solution first).
Google Adsense
Old 10-07-2009, 01:20 PM

Total Downloaded: 190.24 MB
Papercraft from Blender

Flatpack / Papercraft, Bringing your sketches to life
http://www.stencilrevolution.com/for...howtopic=29024
gaki - Feb 25 2009, 02:20 PM Post #1 From: Melbourne
--
Creating paper models
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=101194
emu - 20-Jul-07, 10:26
--

-Steve
Old 10-08-2009, 02:39 AM

Thanks. Those tutorials look most helpful.
Old 10-08-2009, 06:35 AM

Total Downloaded: 219.9 KB
Might I suggest you visit
Bürodienstleistung Holzinger
leading to
Bürodienstleistung Holzinger
and follow all the links.
W. Holzinger has been active in working out how to use open source in the way you seem to be interested. You might find the German language difficult but there are many pictures. Wolfgang has posted here once as "woody". is fluent in English and has been very willing to help in the past.

edit

Just checked and I see that you may in fact have little difficulty with the German language.

Last edited by maurice; 10-08-2009 at 07:05 AM.