PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Tips and Techniques

Old 10-23-2007, 06:56 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Laminating advice?

I just got two great locomotive kits - Angraf's Py27 and Modelik's OI 49. They look pretty challenging. I think I'll start with the Angraf but I've never done a locomotive model in card before (several old wood HO scales years ago).

There's a code in the intro for the Modelik; not speaking polish, I'm guessing * means laminate to cardstock (brystol), and then ** = 0.5 mm and so forth.

There are no instructions in the Angraf - aarrrgh. But I think it's the same designer. Same code or not, does anyone know?

And what's the best technique for laminating, to avoid wrinkles and warping??

Thanks, anyone....

Dave
Google Adsense
Old 10-23-2007, 07:25 PM
Aviation Moderator

Send a message via Yahoo to dansls1
Somebody recommended 3m type 77 spray glue to me and I've been pretty happy with it.
The Modelik kit I'm building said in the instructions that *=0.5mm and **=0.8mm. I can't read Polish, but that stuck out. If you have calipers, you can measure the cross patterns where the formers are meant to go and see what dimension they are drawn at - hopefully it matches what the laminating thickness should be.
Old 10-23-2007, 07:43 PM

Total Downloaded: 21.91 MB
I've seen the *'s mean different things in different models.

Dan's idea is a good one. Usually you can see the thicknesses they want in some pieces, especially if there's a slot or some such.

[And I can read Polish if there's a specific sentence]
Old 10-23-2007, 07:49 PM

Location: Ripon, WI, 20 mi from Oshkosh - center of the Aviation Universe
Total Downloaded: 1.51 GB
Usually, but not always, there is a key somewhere under "Opus Budowy" (which translates roughly as "Instructions").
"*" on a part means laminate
"Brystol" means cardstock (of the same weight as the kit)
Unfortunately, beyond that point, uniformity goes out the window.