PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Tips and Tricks

Old 08-22-2015, 06:16 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
How to weather paper models

Hi Guys,

So I have managed to get hold of a 'Modelik GLS30' set, and will start the modeling in a day or two. What I have been doing all this while is searching for how other people have made the model, and trying to get a step by step photo set for reference.

I got the photo set from a few searches and came across this finished model (photo attached). I see that it has been weathered to give a more realistic look (which in my opinion has been overdone, but I would like the same at around 50% intensity in my model).

I searched a lot on the internet and couldn't come across any tutorial on how to weather/patina/rust paper models. I was wondering if you guys could help me with a few techniques on this.

Note : I am a beginner and this is only my second model. You might feel that I am making things complicated and might mess up the model all together, but in any case, I still do want to know the techniques.

Thanks a lot guys.

Meanwhile, I am into wildlife photography for 7 years now, and showcase a few photos on my website www dot jungleraaj dot com (I cant post the link yet) A brief search on the forum made me realise that there are absolutely no Indian Locomotive models here, so I am looking forward to add locomotive and railway photos into the website as well, so that we can figure out a model for them as well.
Attached Thumbnails
How to weather paper models-dsc07126.jpg  
Google Adsense
Old 08-22-2015, 06:50 AM

Total Downloaded: 316.45 MB
Weathered a few card models before. I generally do one of the following;

On bare card models (no varnish layer) stick to dry brushing. can be useful to tone colours down a bit.

On painted and varnished card models. You can start having fun with washes.

Hope this helps

Tim
Old 08-22-2015, 12:22 PM

Location: The thriving metropolis of Wappingers Falls, NY, USA