PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Tips and Tricks

Old 11-06-2020, 11:35 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Cutting Circles

For those of you who have worked with cardstock before what is a good method for cutting circles in 110 lbs. Cardstock? Is there a cutting device any one would recommend? Or do most of you think free hand is best?
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Google Adsense
Old 11-06-2020, 03:23 PM

Total Downloaded: 313.46 MB
Kind of depends on the size you’re going for Kyle. I have a craft circle cutter for radiuses larger than 2cm. And a hole punch set for diameters smaller than 2mm. A couple caveats on those. The former takes a couple of passes to cut clean through, and you get good at finding the centers of things, which aren’t often provided. The latter requires some practice to center over the part or the hole. I’m not good at it. For all sizes in between I use a combination of a new #10 exacto blade and a curved scalpel blade. Again multiple passes to get a clean cut and the a bit of edge trimming as needed. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FDRCXVM..._D1BPFbN3QMFQ9
Old 11-06-2020, 10:29 PM

Total Downloaded: 263.00 MB
I use a book punch for the small circles, but for the bigger ones I just cut them by hand. I have tried circle cutters but found them clumsy and not as accurate as hand cutting.
Old 11-07-2020, 03:25 AM

Total Downloaded: 1.87 GB
For all small circles, I think hole punches are your friend. I have them from 2mm to 15mm, the latter hardly used while you really have to push and twist the hole punch with mixed results. a Hammer is perhaps convenient to get the circle loose in one whack. For bigger stuff up to 3, 4 cm, I often use the old eyeball and hand cutting method. I have a pair of nail cutting scissors, with curved blades, they are nice for keeping the curvature.