PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Tips and Tricks

Old 07-15-2023, 08:09 PM

Total Downloaded: 84.35 MB
Sealing paper for model preservation and spray coat- current method not working

Hello all!

As you probably know from my introductory post, I'm still very new to paper modeling in general (I only became serious about it this year after attempting to assemble a few models throughout my middle school years and a hiatus during high school); I'm still learning and adapting different techniques to modeling that work best for me.

Some of my favorite models to build are those of 1:120 and 1:144 airliners such as the ones published by Canon. [I promise, this info is relevant to the topic]
My favorite models in this category, however, are designed by Costa Rican paper model Youtuber and model designer Edwin Rodriguez (Hermercraft); such as this Boeing 757-200 in 1:120 scale:

Six years ago Edwin released a tutorial on sealing paper for gloss spray: [see?]

Not only does the glue layer prevent gloss from being absorbed by the paper, but it theoretically should protect the paper from dust and fading/ink running.

However, this is a method of sealing paper that I am absolutely not a fan of.
I have no doubt that this method works perfectly for him, but I find sealing paper with glue is awful in (my) practice. Anything and everything will stick to the paper as it's drying and it's not even clear how much glue is on the paper unless you run it under a light source.
Plus, the moisture from the glue causes the ink to lift off the page and stick to the glue (I print from a Brother MFC-J1010DW inkjet).

I've tried spraying the sheets directly with Mod Podge gloss spray, but it doesn't seal well and only makes the paper look glittery.
(It did, however, prevent the monochrome toner prints from rubbing off when I used to print from an HP LaserJet MFP M141w, so that's a plus I guess )