PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Tips and Tricks

Old 08-15-2023, 06:59 PM

Total Downloaded: 30.97 MB
General questions

I'm new to paper modeling and have some general questions.

1. When building plastic models I would "test build" a complete kit using white glue. This let me find and fix any fit problems before painting and permanently gluing. Much better than getting the kit 90% built and then finding the chassis won't fit in the body. Is there a way to do something similar with paper, some way to build and disassemble it without destroying it?

2. After printing the kit I'm working on I sprayed it with Krylon Matte finish to help prevent smearing while handling it. I chose it because I'd used in on plastic models with no problems. It doesn't seem to get along well with paper, though...you can see mottling in the outlined places in the pic. I'd appreciate recommendations for an alternative.

Thanks in advance for your assistance. I'm sure I'll have more questions down the road.
Attached Thumbnails
General questions-20230815_174441.jpg  
Google Adsense
Old 08-15-2023, 07:34 PM
ADMINISTRATOR

Total Downloaded: 1.79 GB
To me, the mottling looks like a krylon issue. The only time I have problems is
spraying in high humidity. Been using it a long time.

As to build/disassemble a paper kit. That's the beauty. If you dry fit the parts, and
they look ok, you're good. If something messes up after gluing, you can just print another and start over.

Respect the Paper, RESPECT IT!
GET OFF MY LAWN!
Old 08-15-2023, 07:45 PM

Total Downloaded: 424.90 MB
That is definitely mottling. I have never had it happen, but I never spray a completed model. I spray the parts before assembly, so would know if there was interaction with the printing ink.

This recent thread included a discussion of Krylon and other preservative coatings: Sealing paper for model preservation and spray coat- current method not working

Don
Old 08-15-2023, 09:04 PM