PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > General Information and News > The Welcome Desk

Old 10-30-2013, 09:36 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Seeking New Skills

Howdy!

I am a plastic scale modeler, but became intrigued by the possibilities of card modeling when I found Harry Woodman's classic book: Scale Modeling in Plastic Card. As he wrote in the introduction, many of the techniques he used with plastic card were first developed by paper modelers. I have experimented with some of the techniques he described in his book and found them to be very useful for plastic modeling, so I am here to learn more about paper modeling that might be applied to plastic.

I am also interested in learning more about card modeling for its own sake, as it is an entirely unknown area for me and I am always curious to learn new things.

Karl
Google Adsense
Old 10-30-2013, 11:52 AM

Total Downloaded: 582.17 MB
Welcome to the forum. What types of models interest you most?
Old 10-30-2013, 02:31 PM

Total Downloaded: 567.16 MB
Welcome to the site.

You will find a lot of information about all kinds of paper models here. Do not hesitate to ask questions.
Old 10-30-2013, 02:54 PM

You must be warned; paper modeling is extremely addictive, and most of us here are lifelong addicts. Furthermore, almost all of us have built plastic models at some point, so we know exactly where you are coming from. We're glad to have you here, and can't wait to see you get started! Welcome, welcome!
Old 10-30-2013, 03:07 PM

Welcome to the dark side! We are, most of us, just sane enough to be allowed scissors and X-Acto knives.
Some of us are members of the Braille-Scale Brigade, so don't get too upset if the scale numbers below the bar get into three figures.
I believe you will find this a consensual group, devoted to the creed of: Cut - Bend- Glue - Show - Gloat - Repeat. Heh.
Have fun and show off your work (Don't be shy. We're gentlefolk here, mostly.)
Old 10-30-2013, 08:15 PM
Eternal Member