PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > General Information and News > The Welcome Desk

Old 10-31-2020, 07:30 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Hello from new member

Hi everyone, i have been modelling for many years now with plastic kits and would like to have a go at paper/card models. I am usually a tank buff WW1 and 2. I would like to venture into laser cut models doing my own thing. At the moment i am learning fusion 360 which is quite easy but you have to use it a lot otherwise its easy to forget how you have created things. I would like to find out what are the best kits to get and make and the hints and tips associated with paper card modelling, hopefully you guys can assist.
Google Adsense
Old 11-01-2020, 03:21 AM

Total Downloaded: 316.45 MB
Welcome to the forum

Tim
Old 11-01-2020, 05:05 AM

Total Downloaded: 34.87 MB
Welcome, Topfmine!

For browsing top end card armor models, I recommend visiting GPM, an online store based in Poland. Set Google Translate to whatever language you prefer. Currency can display in US Dollars, Euros, and Polish Zils. On the left, under 'Categories', select 'Carton Models', then 'Military Vehicles', then a scale of '1/25'. This will produce a long list of hard and soft skinned military vehicles. The detail view of a kit often includes a few pictures of the finished model. Other card model retailers exist, but to my knowledge, GPM offers the most extensive selection and the most pictures.

For learning how to build card models of military vehicles, I recommend visiting the World of Tanks card model website and trying one or two you like. They currently have about 100 free vehicle models in 1/50 scale including a few World War I offerings. If you want to adjust colors or make revisions, all models easily import into Inkscape.