PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > First Cuts; A Lounge

Old 06-09-2010, 04:05 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Another Conversion Question!

Sorry to be such a pain in the donkey; but now I am trying to figure out how to convert a 30mm model to a 1/48th scale model. I know that at least 1 or 2 of you model gurus know how to do this. Please???
Thanks in advance,
Larry
Google Adsense
Old 06-09-2010, 04:20 PM

Total Downloaded: 567.16 MB
This site TMP All About Scales has a chart that lists a 30mm scale model as 1/54th scale.
So:
54/48 = 1.125 x 100 = 112.5% so print the 30mm model at 112.5% of its current size to convert it to 1/48th
Old 06-09-2010, 04:34 PM

WOW Doug.
I have been modeling for some 50 yrs. and currently have an in-process On30 railroad layout. This chart sure does confuse me even more as I have always thought my stuff was 1/48th scale but according to the chart my stuff SHOULD be 1/43.5 scale. Guess I'll have to do some more research before starting anything.
And by the way, that enlarging I was doing yesterday was with my Adobe.
Thanks for the chart,
Larry
Old 06-10-2010, 06:10 AM

Total Downloaded: 567.16 MB
You have to keep the figures used for the math in mind with that chart .
It uses the
Quote:
"eye height" of the average man, measured in millimeters. The number we use is 1610 mm (about 5' 3")" to do the computions.
I have seen some places use the height to the top of the head for an averages size man for the computations. Then you have to figure if the average is based on a worldwide sampling on on a local sampling. Then you have to start pulling out your hair because there is just too much information to deal with and my dog hasn't been fed yet!!! :D

There is not much difference between 1/48th and 1/43.5 scale. It is probably not even noticable. I use that chart as a quick reference instead of scrambling around looking for multiple references that agree with one another.
Old 06-20-2010, 05:52 AM