PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds

Old 09-12-2023, 07:34 AM

Total Downloaded: 236.99 MB
Star Trek Akira-Class by Zosho

Hi, I would like to build the Star Trek Akira-class ship from Zosho however I am a beginner. I have built a few pokemon models from pokemonpapercraft but nothing like the starship i want to build. How am I supposed to glue it together without tabs? That may be a stupid question.
Google Adsense
Old 09-12-2023, 11:38 AM

Total Downloaded: 582.17 MB
I am not familiar with that model, but I hope someone will be able to assist
Old 09-12-2023, 12:03 PM

Total Downloaded: 567.16 MB
Not familiar with that model, but usually when no glue tabs are included with the part something called a glue strip is often used. It is a narrow piece of paper or card that is glued along the seam of two parts. Usually glued lengthwise to one part then the other part is glued on, closing the gap. Good for flush joints in fuselages or rocket bodies.

Otherwise plain butt joints are used.
Old 09-13-2023, 12:10 AM

Total Downloaded: 236.99 MB
Oh I see so I assume that you make these strips yourself cause there isn't anything like that in the template. Thanks for the info
Old 09-13-2023, 03:36 AM

Total Downloaded: 136.69 MB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Backstab View Post
Oh I see so I assume that you make these strips yourself cause there isn't anything like that in the template. Thanks for the info

Correct. Really the designer should include tabs of some kind but they are not hard to make, just measure the edge and make a strip. It is recommended that the sides of the glue tab are sloped away from the foldline so that there will be no problems with overlapping tabs on corners, you can see this on practically all models.
Google Adsense
Old 09-14-2023, 12:07 AM

Total Downloaded: 2.15 GB
Akira